Attention City Businesses: Click here for COVID-19/Coronavirus Business Assistance


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Local Government

All 5 members of the Williamsburg City Council are elected at-large, and appoint the Mayor, Vice-Mayor, City Manager, City Attorney, and Clerk of Council. The Mayor chairs the City Council and acts as the official head of the city government.

The Williamsburg City Manager administers the city government, carrying out the policies of City Council.


State Government

The Commonwealth of Virginia is composed of 95 counties and 39 independent cities.

The bicameral legislative branch is known as the General Assembly.

The executive branch is comprised of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and Attorney General, each of whom is elected for a four-year term.